Golden Boy 2019 Award: Chukwueze Drops Out Of Final Shortlist

Oluwole Ola

The 20 man shortlist for the Golden Boy 2019 award has been announced with Arsenal midfielder Matteo Guendouzi, Chelsea’s Mason Mount, Atletico Madrid’s Joao Felix, Juventus’ Matthijs De Light among the headliners.

Unfortunately, Super Eagles and Villareal sensation misses out after being named initially in the 40 man list released last month have made the 20-man shortlist for the Golden Boy 2019 award.

Chukwueze was one of Nigeria’s leading lights in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations and before that was imperious Villarreal in the 2018/2019 La Liga season.

A surprise inclusion happens to be Barcelona’s youngster Ansu Fati who has less than 10 games yet to his name for the Catalans. The 17 year old exploded onto the scene at the beginning of the season when he was called up by Ernesto Valverde to cover for the absences in attack of  Messi, Dembélé and Suárez but far from making up the numbers, the youngster showed such composure that he has now made six appearances in LaLiga and the Champions League, scoring twice and providing one assist.

De Ligt won last year’s award for his performances at Ajax, while past winners also include Wayne Rooney, Raheem Sterling, Paul Pogba and Anthony Martial.

The award was created by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003 for players under the age of 21 who are playing in Europe. Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix is favourite to win the award this year following his impressive performances for Benfica last season.

Everton striker Moise Kean has also made the final 20, while England winger Jadon Sancho also makes the cut.
The winner will be announced in Turin on December 16


Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus, Netherlands)
Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich, Canada)
Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan, Italy)
Ansu Fati (Barcelona, Spain)
Phil Foden (Manchester City, England)
Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal, France)
Erling Braut Haland (RB Salzburg, Norway)
Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)
Joao Felix (Atlético de Madrid, Portugal)
Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt, Serbia)
Moise Kean (Everton, Italy)
Kang-in Lee (Valencia CF, South Korea)
Andrij Oleksijovyc (Valladolid, Ukraine)
Donyell Malen (PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands)
Mason Mount (Chelsea, England)
Rodrygo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund, England)
Ferran Torres (Valencia CF, Spain)
Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)
Nicolo Zaniolo (AS Roma, Italy)



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram

Related Posts