Chukwueze, De Ligt, Joao Felix Headline Golden Boy Award Shortlist

Oluwole Ola


Super Eagles and Villareal forward, Samuel Chukwueze has been shortlisted for the 2019 Golden Boy Award after a stellar year with club and country. 

Juventus and Netherlands defender Matthijs deLight could become the first player to win two Golden Boy trophies after he was named on the shortlist of 40 players in the running for the 2019 award.

Atletico Madrid and Portugal forward Joao Felix will be considered among the most serious competition, as will Borussia Dortmund winger Jadon Sancho and Real Madrid attacker Vinicius Junior.

Six Premier League players remain in this year’s hunt for the award given to the best under-21 player, although no players from Liverpool or Manchester United have been included.

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Chelsea counterpart Mason Mount are among them, while Arsenal are the only English club with more than one nominee after Matteo Guendouzi and Reiss Nelson made the cut.

La Liga clubs account for 10 of those named—more than any other division—while the Bundesliga and Serie A each have six representatives still left on the shortlist, per Goal.

2019 Golden Boy 40-Man Shortlist

Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)

Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)

Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)

Michael Cuisance (Bayern Munich)

Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)

Rodrygo Goes (Real Madrid)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)

Erling Braut Haaland (RB Salzburg)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan)

Rafael Leao (AC Milan)

Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)

Justin Kluivert (Roma)

Eljif Elmas (Napoli)

Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)

Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal)

Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford)

Moise Kean (Everton)

Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona)

Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad)

Diego Lainez (Real Betis)

Kang-In Lee (Valencia)

Ferran Torres (Valencia)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal)

Andriy Lunin (Real Valladolid, on loan)

Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Ibrahima Konate (RB Leipzig)

Benoit Badiashile (Monaco)

Boubacar Kamara (Marseille)

Alban Lafont (Nantes)

Florentino Luis (Benfica)

Donyell Malen (PSV)

Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord)

Nehuen Perez (Famalicao)

Abdulkadir Omur (Trabzonspor)

Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade)

Krepin Diatta (Club Brugge)

Denis Dragus (Standard Liege)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram

Related Posts