AFCON Qualifiers: Osimhen Returns For Super Eagles’ Double Header

Oluwole Ola
Oluwole Ola

Napoli star Victor Osimhen is back in the Super Eagles squad for their 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Sierra Leone in November 2020 while Premier League star Wilfred Ndidi is still missing as coach Genort Rohr calls up 24 players for the games.

Osimhen was not available for the Super Eagles’ two friendly games in October as he had to self-isolate after coming in possible contact with COVID-19.

This is Osimhen’s first national team call up after his big-money move to Napoli. Ndidi, another high-profile Super Eagles star is still missing as he is currently recovering from the abductor injury that has kept him out of action since September 2020.

In midfielder, Galatasaray player Oghenekaro Etebo and Rangers player Joe Aribo are also back.

Etebo and Rangers missed the October games due to injuries and have been included in the squad alongside other regulars while the likes of Frank Onyeka who plays in Denmark, Emmanuel Dennis who last week scored in the Champions League for Club Brugge and Chidera Ejuke who just made his Super Eagles debut in October 2020 are also in the team.

Switzerland-based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe also received his first call up. The Super Eagles of Nigeria will continue their AFCON 2021 qualifiers with a double-header against Sierra Leone in November.

Nigeria will first host on Friday, November 13 before the away fixture four days later on Tuesday, November 17.

The Super Eagles are top of Group L of the AFCON 2021 qualifiers with two wins out of two. The Republic of Benin are second with three points while Lesotho and Sierra Leone are both with a point each.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi, Maduka Okoye, Sebastian Osigwe

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, Semi Ajayi, Chidozie Awaziem, Zaidu Sanusi, Ola Aina, Jamilu Collins, Kevin Akpoguma

Midfielders: Tyronne Ebuehi, Frank Onyeka, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joe Aribo

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Emmanuel Bonaventure Dennis, Moses Simon, Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Chidera Ejuke

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram